Expedition lead

A FAMILY

Ghislain BARDOUT

EXPEDITIONS CO-FOUNDER AND CO-DIRECTOR
UNDER THE POLE

Energy engineer

Deep polar diving specialist and underwater cameraman

Biography

Since 2006, he joined the adventure and the polar regions underwater exploration.

Attracted by the sea and the mountains, he first developed a passion for climbing and scuba diving. These activities quickly led him to teach it and to diversify his skills in both technical and professional diving. During his studies, he worked closely as a logistician and technical manager for Jean-Louis Étienne. This way, in April 2007 he organized a diving campaign at the North Pole, involving an underwater robot and six divers.

He then imagines an underwater exploration project aiming a complete photographic and cinematographic report on the underwater world of pack ice: the expedition "Deepsea Under The Pole by Rolex". To make his dream come true, he becomes an entrepreneur.

In the spring of 2010, after 3 years of preparation, together with 7 team members and a husky, Ghislain arrives in the polar night, 76 km from the North Pole. At the end of trying 45 days living on the pack ice and 51 dives in extreme conditions, this first adventure ended with remarkable success. It brings back some unique and spectacular photos of pack ice, which have traveled the world, testifying to a dream world in distress due to the global warming.

Thanks to this first success, in 2011 Ghislain starts working on the "Under The Pole" underwater exploration program. Welcomed by offshore racing sailor Roland Jourdain, he movs to a real preparation base in Concarneau and prepares to launch a new expedition: "Under The Pole II - Discovery Greenland". In 2013 together with Emmanuelle Périé-Bardout, he acquired a 19.5 m aluminum schooner the "WHY", in order to make it a traveling base camp dedicated to diving and polar exploration.

In January 2014, nearly a hundred crew members and collaborators as well as more than 80 partner companies and research institutes accompagnied the departure for Greenland. This expedition received an official support and sponsorship from the "Ministry of National Education, Higher Education and Research". After 4 months of deep dives, in July 2014 Ghislain crossed the 100 m bar in diving with mixtures in a rebreather for the first time in the polar region. After wintering in the pack ice, he goes on in April 2015, making the first dive beyond 100 m under the pack ice. In September 2015, after 21 months of polar immersion, the expedition returned to France. Since then, Ghislain and his crew have been preparing the Under The Pole III expedition.

Emmanuelle PÉRIÉ-BARDOUT

EXPEDITIONS CO-FOUNDER AND CO-DIRECTOR
UNDER THE POLE

National Sailing School graduated skipper

Polar regions specialist

Biography

Former teammate of Jean-Louis Étienne, Emmanuelle carries the Under The Pole program alongside Ghislain. Skipper of the "WHY" boat, she leads expedition communications and enjoys documenting untouched areas, particularly through writing.

Passionate about the sea and cetaceans since childhood, at the age of 13 she travels aboard the school schooner "Grace O" Malley for 6 months. In 2000, she trained at Glénans and at the National Sailing School until she reached the highest level in cruise teaching. Along with her work as manager of the island of Penfret where she manages about 200 trainees and 50 instructors, she has been experimenting offshore racing aboard a Mini 6.50.

Following her meeting with Jean-Louis Étienne, she sailes to Clipperton Island as sailor and nautical activities co-responsible. On her return, she became a diving instructor before leaving for a year and a half of polar sailing between Norway and Spitsbergen, as co-responsable of the Southern Star of Olivier Pitras. In 2007, she reunited with Jean-Louis Étienne for an expedition on an airship. It was the first time in 2008 when she went to the Geographic North Pole.

Emmanuelle then joined Ghislain to prepare Deepsea Under The Pole by Rolex expedition. In 2010, she was the only woman diving on the pack ice, taking care of communications and the dog Kayak. Since then, she is fully devoted to the new expedition preparing: Discovery Greenland - Under The Pole Part II.

Robin BARDOUT

SON OF EMMANUELLE AND GHISLAIN

Son of Emmanuelle and Ghislain, passionate about dogs, Robin naturally became co-responsible for the French Inuit Dog. His obsession with waking up in the early morning helps the crew not to hang around in bed. His good humor and his whims animate each day on board.

Tom BARDOUT

SON OF EMMANUELLE AND GHISLAIN

Kayak

MASCOT AND ADVENTURE PARTNER

Having already participated on the UNDER THE POLE I, II and III expeditions, Kayak is our mascot and adventures partner.

Siberian Husky, born February 8, 2009 in Quimper among the "Amarok" ("spirit of the wolf" in the Inuit language) in a pack of 80 other sled dogs, its real name is Amarok Ermak Kayak. Kayak loves snow and cold, it is full of energy and professional seducer. It accompanied the crew on the Deepsea Under The Pole by Rolex expedition, and earned his nickname of French Inuit Dog!

PERMANENT CREW

PASSIONATE PEOPLE

The expedition crew is multidisciplinary: divers, sailors, mountaineers, engineers, mechanics, cooks, cameramen, sound recordists, directors, photographers, biologists, doctors, scientists ...

Angélique HONORÉ-GUILET

ADMINISTRATIVE & FINANCIAL DIRECTOR

Erwan MARIVINT

GENERAL COORDINATION & PARTNERSHIPS

Ecological Engineer

Master degree in Arctic Studies

Diver N4, class 1B, hypoxic rebreather

Cradled by Nicolas Hulot's documentaries and Jean-Louis Étienne's stories, Erwan developed a strong taste for adventure and environmental protection.
Passionate about the great outdoors, he is specialized in the study of the polar regions.
Following the internship in Alaska and within the dynamic meteorology laboratory at the Polytechnic School of Palaiseau, Erwan found his vocation and joined the Under The Pole family in early 2016.

Alexandre SOENEN

COMMUNICATION MANAGER

Gaëlle BOUTTIER-GUERIVE

AWARENESS COORDINATOR

Master degree in Human Ecology

Growing up on the Bretagne region coast, between wild landscapes and destructive agriculture, Gaëlle understands that Man must learn to live harmoniously with Nature. Graduated in anthropology but engaged for nearly 20 years in environmental protection within a non-governmental organization, she is the author of books on ecology for all ages. She joined the Under The Pole crew to encourage the younger generations to explore the wonders of the planet.

Pol ROBERT

PARTNERSHIPS & SPONSORSHIP

Suite à une formation en école de commerce et un an de stage à l’étranger à Hong Kong et Amsterdam, Pol s’est rapidement embarqué dans une carrière de commercial grands comptes dans la tech et l’informatique. Il a fait ses armes chez Capgemini avant de travailler pour Microsoft pour le secteur public. Après avoir passé 4 ans dans des grands groupes, il a voulu sortir de sa zone de confort en s’engageant en couple dans un projet de volontariat en Inde et en Birmanie pour l’association Life Project 4 Youth. De retour en France, il a souhaité se lancer dans une nouvelle aventure bretonne pleine de challenges en intégrant UNDER THE POLE. Il est par ailleurs un grand féru de sports en tout genre comme l’ultra-trail, le triathlon ou la chasse sous-marine. Après avoir déjà couru l’UTMB il souhaite s’aligner sur la Diagonale des fous en 2022

Myrina BOULAIS

SCIENTIFIC COORDINATOR

Tony SIEGFRIEDT

ADMIN

Franck GAZZOLA

PHOTOGRAPHER & INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT

Bachelor degree in Administration and Business Management

Snorkeling diver

Born in St.-Pierre et Miquelon, Tony has always known the sea through a lighthouse keepers family. After a few years passed in Canada, he returned to the Bretagne region in France, passionate about hiking and snorkeling. He joins the UNDER THE POLE crew in April 2018, bringing his administrative skills to a team of explorers sharing his values.

Megan BRYCE

CARAVAN PROJECT MANAGER

Pierre ÇAKMUR

AWARENESS AND PARTNERSHIPS

Aurélie MERCIER

EDUCATION AND AWARENESS

« Great adventures are built by great crews.».

— Ghislain BARDOUT —

NON PERMANENT CREW

CLOSE COLLABORATORS

Frédéric NASRINFAR

LAWYER & LEGAL EXPERTISE

Grégoire CHÉRON

PRESS OFFICER & AGENT

Zeppelin agency

BRUNO & JULIEN

Victor RAULT

VIDEOS & MONTAGES

error: Content protected!

SUBSCRIBE!

Don't miss the latest news and previews!

Data Protection Act of 6 January 1978 : the undersigned is informed that his personal data will be collected and processed electronically by the Club. This data will be stored by the UNDER THE POLE for administrative purposes for a period of 3 years. The undersigned is informed of his right of access, communication and rectification, in case of data proven inaccuracy as well as his right to oppose the processing and / or publication of his data for legitimate reasons. To do so, simply send an email to the following address: contact@underthepole.com

ANY QUESTION?

At your service

Data Protection Act of 6 January 1978 : the undersigned is informed that his personal data will be collected and processed electronically by the Club. This data will be stored by the UNDER THE POLE for administrative purposes for a period of 3 years. The undersigned is informed of his right of access, communication and rectification, in case of data proven inaccuracy as well as his right to oppose the processing and / or publication of his data for legitimate reasons. To do so, simply send an email to the following address: contact@underthepole.com

Partnership

Get a file

Data Protection Act of 6 January 1978 : the undersigned is informed that his personal data will be collected and processed electronically by the Club. This data will be stored by the UNDER THE POLE for administrative purposes for a period of 3 years. The undersigned is informed of his right of access, communication and rectification, in case of data proven inaccuracy as well as his right to oppose the processing and / or publication of his data for legitimate reasons. To do so, simply send an email to the following address: contact@underthepole.com

PARTNERS ZONE

DONATE

Data Protection Act of 6 January 1978 : the undersigned is informed that his personal data will be collected and processed electronically by the Club. This data will be stored by the UNDER THE POLE for administrative purposes for a period of 3 years. The undersigned is informed of his right of access, communication and rectification, in case of data proven inaccuracy as well as his right to oppose the processing and / or publication of his data for legitimate reasons. To do so, simply send an email to the following address: contact@underthepole.com

À la tête de l'expédition

Cofondateurs & codirecteurs

Ghislain BARDOUT

CO-FONDATEUR ET CO-DIRECTEUR DES EXPÉDITIONS
UNDER THE POLE

Ingénieur énergéticien EPFL

Spécialiste de la plongée polaire profonde et caméraman sous-marin

Biographie

Il s’est lancé depuis 2006 dans la voie de l’aventure et de l’exploration sous-marine des régions polaires.

Attiré par la mer et la montagne, il se passionne d’abord pour l’escalade puis pour la plongée sous-marine. Son engouement pour cette activité l’amènera rapidement à l’enseigner et à diversifier ses compétences tant en plongée technique que professionnelle. Pendant ses études, il travaille étroitement en tant que logisticien et responsable technique de Jean-Louis Étienne. C’est dans ce cadre qu’en avril 2007, il organise une campagne de plongées au pôle Nord, faisant intervenir un robot sous-marin et six plongeurs.

Il imagine ensuite un projet d’exploration sous-marine ayant pour objectif de réaliser un témoignage-reportage photographique et cinématographique totalement inédit sur l’univers sous-marin de la banquise, de la manière la plus représentative et exhaustive possible : l’expédition «Deepsea Under The Pole by Rolex». Au cours du montage de cette aventure moderne, il devient entrepreneur pour concrétiser son rêve.

Au printemps 2010, après 3 années de préparation, il se fait déposer avec 7 équipiers et un husky à la sortie de la nuit polaire à 76 km du pôle Nord. Au terme d’un périple de 45 jours de vie sur la banquise, éprouvants pour les hommes et le matériel, et 51 plongées dans des conditions extrêmes, l’aventure – une première – se clôture par un succès remarquable. Elle rapporte des images uniques et spectaculaires de la banquise sous-marine, qui feront le tour du monde, témoignant d’un monde de rêve en perdition à cause du réchauffement climatique.

Fort de ce succès, il travaille à partir de 2011 au développement du programme d’exploration sous-marin « Under The Pole ». Accueillis par le navigateur de la course au large Roland Jourdain, il s’installe dans une véritable base de préparation à Concarneau pour lancer une nouvelle expédition d’envergure : « Under The Pole II – Discovery Greenland ». En 2013, il acquiert avec Emmanuelle Périé-Bardout le « WHY », une formidable goélette en aluminium de 19,5 m, afin d’en faire un camp de base itinérant dédié à la plongée et à l’exploration polaire.

En janvier 2014, le départ est pris pour le Groënland et rassemble près d’une centaine d’équipiers et collaborateurs ainsi que plus de 80 entreprises partenaires et instituts de recherches. L’expédition reçoit alors le soutien officiel du « Ministère de l’Éducation Nationale, de l’Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche » à travers son parrainage. Après 4 mois de plongées de plus en plus profondes, il réalise en juillet 2014 une première en région polaire, dans le Nord du Groenland, en franchissant la barre des 100 m en plongée aux mélanges en recycleur. Au terme d’un hivernage dans la banquise, il réédite en avril 2015, en réalisant les premières plongées au delà de 100 m sous la banquise. Après 21 mois d’immersion polaire, l’expédition est rentrée en France en septembre 2015, au terme d’une aventure pionnière. Depuis, Ghislain et son équipe travaillent sur Under The Pole III.

Emmanuelle PÉRIÉ-BARDOUT

CO-FONDATRICE ET CO-DIRECTRICE DES EXPÉDITIONS
UNDER THE POLE

Skipper diplômée de l’École Nationale de Voile

Spécialiste des régions polaires

Biographie

Ancienne équipière de Jean-Louis Étienne, elle porte aux côtés de Ghislain le programme Under The Pole. Skipper du « WHY », elle dirige la communication des expéditions et aime à documenter, en particulier à travers l’écriture, les régions encore vierges d’exploration.

Passionnée depuis l’enfance par la mer et les cétacés, elle embarque à 13 ans pour 6 mois à bord de la goélette école « Grace O’ Malley ». En 2000, elle se forme aux Glénan puis à l’École Nationale de Voile jusqu’à atteindre le plus haut niveau dans l’enseignement en croisière. Parallèlement à son travail de responsable de l’île de Penfret – où elle gère pas moins de 200 stagiaires et 50 moniteurs – elle expérimente la course au large en Mini 6.50.

Suite à sa rencontre avec Jean-Louis Étienne, elle embarque pour Clipperton, comme marin et co-responsable des activités nautiques. À son retour, elle devient monitrice de plongée avant de repartir pour un an et demi de navigation polaire entre Norvège et Spitsberg, comme second à bord du Southern Star d’Olivier Pitras. En 2007, elle retrouve Jean-Louis Étienne pour une expédition sur un bateau des airs : le dirigeable. C’est à cette occasion qu’en 2008 elle se rend pour la première fois au pôle Nord Géographique.

Elle rejoint alors Ghislain pour préparer Deepsea Under The Pole by Rolex. En 2010, elle est la seule femme de l’équipe sur la banquise où elle plonge, s’occupe de la communication et du chien Kayak. Depuis, elle se consacre pleinement à la valorisation du travail et à leur nouvelle expédition : Discovery Greenland – Under The Pole Part II.

ÉQUIPE PERMANENTE

DES PASSIONNÉS

L’équipe permanente, à terre ou en expédition, fait vivre le projet tout au long de l’année. Investis au point d’en avoir fait leur métier, ce sont de vrais passionnés.

Angélique HONORÉ-GUILET

DIRECTRICE ADMINISTRATIVE & FINANCIÈRE

Erwan MARIVINT

COORDINATION GÉNÉRALE & PARTENARIATS

Alexandre SOENEN

RESPONSABLE COMMUNICATION

Gaëlle BOUTTIER-GUERIVE

COORDINATRICE SENSIBILISATION

Joël CASSET

RESPONSABLE PLONGÉE

Myrina BOULAIS

COORDINATRICE SCIENTIFIQUE

Tony SIEGFRIEDT

ADMINISTRATION

Franck GAZZOLA

PHOTOGRAPHE & DÉVELOPPEMENT INTERNATIONAL

Megan BRYCE

CHARGÉE DE PROJET CARAVANE

Alexandre THILLAY

PARTENARIATS

Matthias TYRLIK

COMMUNICATION

Martin MELLET

RESPONSABLE DES PROJETS NAVIRES

ÉQUIPE d'EXPÉDITION

AUX CANARIES

L’équipe des expéditions est pluridisciplinaire : plongeurs, marins, alpinistes, ingénieurs, mécaniciens, cuisiniers, caméramans, preneurs de son, réalisateurs, photographes, biologistes, médecins, scientifiques… Ils mettent leurs compétences à l’œuvre aux Canaries.

Nicolas MOLLON

PLONGEUR RECYCLEUR

Alexis DEBIERRE

CUISINIER DE BORD

Aurélie MERCIER

SCOLARITÉ DE TOM ET ROBIN À BORD

ÉQUIPE SCIENTIFIQUE

DEEPLIFE 2021·2030

L’équipe des expéditions est pluridisciplinaire : plongeurs, marins, alpinistes, ingénieurs, mécaniciens, cuisiniers, caméramans, preneurs de son, réalisateurs, photographes, biologistes, médecins, scientifiques… Ils mettent leurs compétences à l’œuvre aux Canaries.

« Les grandes aventures se construisent avec de grandes équipes»

— Ghislain BARDOUT —

ÉQUIPE NON PERMANENTE

COLLABORATEURS PROCHES

Frédéric NASRINFAR

AVOCAT & EXPERTISE JURIDIQUE

Agence Zeppelin

BRUNO & JULIEN

Lucie OLIVIER

RÉDACTION DE LA NEWSLETTER

error: Content is protected !!

ABONNEZ-VOUS!

Ne manquez pas toutes nos nouveautés et avant-premières !

Loi informatique et libertés du 6 janvier 1978 : le soussigné est informé du fait que des données à caractère personnel le concernant seront collectées et traitées informatiquement par le Club. Ces données seront stockées par l’UNDER THE POLE à des fins administratives pour une durée de 3 ans. Le soussigné est informé de son droit d’accès, de communication et de rectification, en cas d’inexactitude avérée, sur les données le concernant, ainsi que de son droit de s’opposer au traitement et/ou à la publication de ses données pour des motifs légitimes. A cet effet, il suffit d’adresser un courrier électronique à l’adresse suivante : contact@underthepole.com

UNE QUESTION ?

On vous écoute

Loi informatique et libertés du 6 janvier 1978 : le soussigné est informé du fait que des données à caractère personnel le concernant seront collectées et traitées informatiquement par le Club. Ces données seront stockées par l’UNDER THE POLE à des fins administratives pour une durée de 3 ans. Le soussigné est informé de son droit d’accès, de communication et de rectification, en cas d’inexactitude avérée, sur les données le concernant, ainsi que de son droit de s’opposer au traitement et/ou à la publication de ses données pour des motifs légitimes. A cet effet, il suffit d’adresser un courrier électronique à l’adresse suivante : contact@underthepole.com

Partenariat

Obtenez un dossier

Loi informatique et libertés du 6 janvier 1978 : le soussigné est informé du fait que des données à caractère personnel le concernant seront collectées et traitées informatiquement par le Club. Ces données seront stockées par l’UNDER THE POLE à des fins administratives pour une durée de 3 ans. Le soussigné est informé de son droit d’accès, de communication et de rectification, en cas d’inexactitude avérée, sur les données le concernant, ainsi que de son droit de s’opposer au traitement et/ou à la publication de ses données pour des motifs légitimes. A cet effet, il suffit d’adresser un courrier électronique à l’adresse suivante : contact@underthepole.com

ESPACE PRIVÉ PARTENAIRES

FAIRE UN DON

Loi informatique et libertés du 6 janvier 1978 : le soussigné est informé du fait que des données à caractère personnel le concernant seront collectées et traitées informatiquement par le Club. Ces données seront stockées par l’UNDER THE POLE à des fins administratives pour une durée de 3 ans. Le soussigné est informé de son droit d’accès, de communication et de rectification, en cas d’inexactitude avérée, sur les données le concernant, ainsi que de son droit de s’opposer au traitement et/ou à la publication de ses données pour des motifs légitimes. A cet effet, il suffit d’adresser un courrier électronique à l’adresse suivante : contact@underthepole.com